Susan Merrill-Constance Kozel Award

The Susan Merrill Constance Kozel Award is presented to an individual whose contribution to society reflects the principles of justice and peace. The Susan Merrill-Constance Kozel Award was established in 1995. It is dedicated to recognize the work of Peace and Justice Center founding members Susan Merrill and Sr. Constance Kozel. The first director of the Center for Peace and Justice, Kozel said that The ultimate vision is world peace. . . . There can’t be any peace without justice.”

2017 Honoree: Tim Maloney
Tim Maloney is a Muslim from Northeast Pennsylvania. A graduate of Keystone College, he is currently a member of the ACLU of NEPA and the Scranton-Area Ministerium. Over time, Tim has worked to be an advocate for interfaith dialogue, community service, and peace. He has a blog and Facebook page, which can be seen at Tim finds inspiration in the works of Fred Rogers, Linda Sarsour, and Malala Yousafzai. He believes anybody can make a difference, even with small acts of kindness (like opening the door for a stranger). Tim has sponsored various events promoting peace in Northeastern Pennsylvania, from promoting positivity on Public Square during Random Acts of Kindness Week by giving out flowers, positive notes, handmade cards, cupcakes, candy, and other fun stuff to random strangers, to sponsoring the Yellow Roses Interfaith Service and Peace Dinners. Tim was named Man of the Week by The Weekender magazine and is an ardent supporter of Muslim and LGBTQI communities.

Past Honorees:

2016: Hon. Mayor Christopher Concert

2015 : Peggy A. Felton and Tony Mathis

2014: Representative Phyllis Mundy

2013: Esau Foster, VA Medical Center and Ned Smith, St. Martin de Porres Catholic Worker House

2012 : Rev. Marcelle Dotson

2011: Rita Boyle and Sister Nancy Lee Lydon, RSM

2010: Kimberly Biggs-Kiel, memorial

2009 : Robert Makar, North Penn Legal Services

2008: Rick Evans, Jewish Community Center

2007: Linda Kohut, Director, Senior Services, Area Agency on Aging, Luzerne/Wyoming counties.

2006: Samuel Bosch, 1 Human Family

2005: Lois Myers, W-B Free Medical Clinic

2004: Ron Felton, president, NAACP


2002: Jean Warrington, Blankets – Afghanistan, 1600 blankets via American Friends Service


2000: The Rev. William Pickard

1999: Marguerite (Maggie) Ritz

1998: Patrick Rushton, for his contributions to the community reflecting principles of peace and justice.

1997: Jim Bresky

1996: Attorney Joseph Cosgrove, for his representation of marginalized members of society

1995: First Constance Kozel award to family of the late S. Keene Mitchell, instrumental in securing our office in the Kirby Health Center.