Peace Awards

The 2021 Annual Peace Awards Dinner, honoring both 2020 and 2021 award recipients, will be held Tuesday, September 21, beginning at 5:30 PM at AppleTree Terrace, 4 Newberry Estate, in Dallas, Pennsylvania.

To reserve a ticket:
Send an email to with the following information:
  • Number of tickets you wish to reserve and the first and last name of each person attending. Please indicate the type of ticket(s) you are reserving (Tickets are $45 per person, with a reduced $35 price option for students or persons on limited income).
  • Your contact address and phone number.

Please mail your payment in the form of a check made payable to “The Peace and Justice Center” to 57 N. Franklin St., Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701. You may also pay upon arrival at AppleTree Terrace by check or cash. Parking will be available in the rear of the AppleTree Terrace.


If you wish to make an additional contribution to cover dinner costs for the honorees, you may also indicate that in the email and include it in the payment. If you are unable to attend the dinner but still want to support the Peace & Justice Center, we are graciously accepting donations.


*** Covid-19 Protocol for the 2020 & 2021 Annual Peace Awards Dinner ***
In keeping with the most recent CDC safety measures, we encourage that all dinner attendees, regardless of vaccination status, adhere to the following guidelines:
  • Wear masks when not eating or drinking.
  • Refrain from greeting and congratulating others with physical contact.
  • If possible, it is preferred that all attendees be fully vaccinated.

Susan Merrill-Constance Kozel Award

2021 Honorees: William Eck and Gary Barnes


‘2020 Honorees: Jennifer Judge Yonkoski and Joan Blewitt




David Frey Community Service for Peace Award

2021 Honorees: WRKC’s Radio Home Visitor and Sara’s Table at Kraus-Chaiken Food Pantry

2020 Honoree: Ruth Matthews Bourger Women with Children Program at Misericordia University


Student for Peace Award

2021 Honorees: Mustafa Almeky, Lakina Hughes, Winter Jenkins, and Kaylee McNeil

2020 Honoree: Janelle Sherman